The pledge

Once I uttered the oath
Under my breath
As if praying with rosary;
Not to give away
What I have.

The days passed;
Nobody came into my cell
With a bludgeon in hand
With raging scarlet eyes
Striving to invoke fear.
I stood alone in the dark
Captivated.

‘Had I left anything
To give away?’,
I wonder now,
‘Have they already taken
Everything they needed
Out of me?
Had they drained away
All the matters
I yearned to hold on?’

Now I eagerly wait
To hear every footfall
And rushing to the locked door
I scream out
‘I am ready to give in
Without anything in return,’
The receding footfall remains
Their only answer
And my only companions
The despair and darkness.

3 responses to “The pledge

Leave a Reply

