Aleatory

Envy is a curious thing;
It wonders half the world
While the mind is still unsure.

This is not about me,
It is about someone I knew who chose to walk away
Who left his eccentricities, his whims,
His odour, his breath in the gust of the air
And thought it was permanence;
Who believed that in mere act of ultimate rebellion
He will usurp the kingdom of heaven.

There he lay now,
I see his mangled body from up here,
Rotting in the sewer of filth and dissipation.
And I pity his naiveté,
For I fear that my envy
Towards him, his singular moment of glory
Might engulf me
Overwhelm me with the thought
Of living for a single moment
Keeping nothing for the remains of the hours.

Adulation

I often wonder
How much adulation would it take
To break the hardest of hearts.

I try my best
To pick myself up
To say to my innermost ear:
You must
n’t give up the sea
rch for a refuge out of death and desolation.”

Hallowed is he who
Ceased to be me and became
The legion.

The night spreads over the sky;
The belligerent knight rides away;
The dust settles on the vast empty meadow;
The owls and wolves howl in the dark;
The bleakness transpires;
The night awaits to end
The end is nigh.